Agency Response to the COVID-19 Precautions​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

June 11, 2021

“Today, we are lifting the final restrictions put in place to keep our people safe during this once-in-a-lifetime global pandemic,” said Gov. Beshear.

Things appear to be back to normal, however, you may continue to practice any protocols you find useful, but are no longer required to. This has been a difficult time for everyone, we appreciate your patience and cooperation.

Kentucky Board of Barbering


May 17, 2021

As the Chairman of the Kentucky Board of Barbering I feel it is important to note that The Kentucky Board of Barbering and the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology are two individual government boards charged with the regulation of two separate and unique groups of professionals.  In no way do I speak on behalf of the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology.  

 At the Kentucky Board of Barbering we are very concerned with the health and safety of the consumers who seek the services of professional Barbers and the Barbers themselves.  In fact, we have statutes and regulations requiring certain sanitary standards that far surpass that of similar professions and it has always been the mission of the Kentucky Board of Barbering to enforce those high standards among our licensees.

 As the CDC and the Governor’s office revisit guidelines relative to masks and other responses to the COVID19 virus we encourage Barber Shops to follow the guidance from those officials.  However, the Kentucky Board of Barbering will be enforcing State Statutes and Regulations exclusively.

 We encourage Barbers and their patrons to make the decisions they feel most comfortable with regarding their health and the operation of their business so long as those decisions are in keeping with State Statutes, Barber Board Regulations and guidance from the CDC and Governor’s Office.

 Jason Crockett, Chairman
Kentucky Board of Barbering 


May 14, 2021
Yesterday May 13, 2021 the Governor issued an Executive Order reducing the requirements for face coverings.  The Board is meeting on Monday May 17, 2021 to decide on their official position, that will be placed on our website after 2 p.m. 

EO 2021-326 Mask mandates.pdfEO 2021-326 Mask mandates.pdf



May 12, 2021


The Healthy At Work requirements have been updated to allow shops to operate at up to 60% capacity. Waiting areas are allowed under these guidelines and long as theyare spaced 6 feet apart. You must not allow additional persons to accompany any customer unless that customer is a dependent or requires additional assistance or oversight. 

 
 April 19, 2021 MinimumRequirements.pdfApril 19, 2021 MinimumRequirements.pdf     

License Renewals

Renewals will begin on June 1; you may begin to mail renewals to our office after May 15, 2021.  The online renewal portal will be available starting on June 1, 2021.  




Who We Are

The Kentucky Board of Barbering is an independent agency of the state government. Four board members are licensed and practicing barbers in the Commonwealth, one board member is a consumer at large.

Our Mission

To protect the health and safety of the public or to protect the public against misrepresentation, deceit, or fraud in the practice or teaching of Barbering.

 

Fee's for Current Renewal

The following is a list of fees that will be implemented by the board for this renewal period.
Renewal fees:
Barber License- $50
Barber Shop License- $50
Independent Contact Owner- $50
Barber school license- $200
Teacher of barbering- $100

Initial fees:
Apprentice- $50
Barber- $50
Independent Contract Owner- $50
Teacher of barbering- $100
Barber shop- $100
Barber school license- $500

Late Fees:
Barber- $25
Barber shop- $25
Independent Contract Owner- $25
Teacher of barbering- $100
Barber school- $100

 

 

Not Received Your License

 

No renewed licenses will be reprinted until 30 days after the have they have been mailed out.  If you have not received your license after 30 days you must submit a written statement requesting a reprint of the licenses.  This statement must indicate which licenses you need reprinted and you must give a current mailing address.  Any requests for a reprint of a license received after September 1st, will need the required $10 duplicate fee.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Renew Your License

Online renewals ended July 1.

Renew License

Barber License Lookup

Search for individual barbers by inputting some or all of the criteria along with the verification code.

License Lookup

Barber Shop License Lookup

Search for barber shops by inputting some or all of the criteria along with the verification code.

License Lookup


Interested in Becoming a Barber?

Becoming a barber is no easy task. It takes a lot of time and dedication, but it is a very rewarding career. Here is a list of resources that potential barbers should review prior to committing to become a Barber.

  • Read the Laws and Regulations​ that govern Barbering in Kentucky.
  • Review the Curriculum and understand the time and commitment it takes to become a Barber.
  • Find a School of Barbering. There are 13 schools within Kentucky. Please take some time to find one that is near you, and works into your schedule.
  • After you have completed your Curriculum, then you can apply for your Barbering License.

Our Office Location

Kentucky Board of Barbering
312 Whittington Parkway
Suite 110
Louisville, KY 40222

Get Directions

(502) 429-7148
(502) 429-7169
(502) 429-7149 (fax)

Office Hours:
8 am to 4:30 pm No walk-ins after 3 p.m.

KBOB Office Closed:
11/26/20 and 11/27/20 (Thanksgiving)
12/24/20 and 12/25/20 (Christmas)
12/31/20 and 1/1/21 (New Year's)
1/18/21 (Martin Luther King Day)
depending on severe weather we may be unable to provide specific notice of the closing.

​​​​​​